Rural Staff Support Program

The Rural Staff Support Program (RSSP) enhances the effectiveness of Nepal's government district hospitals, transforming them into institutions that can provide a range of services, including operations.

Nepal’s Ministry of Health and Population and the Nick Simons Institute began RSSP in 2007, and today 14 government district hospitals (Bajhang, Dolakha, Gulmi, Kapilvastu, Salyan, Kalikot, Doti, Bardia, Pyuthan, Myagdi, Mahottari, Darchula, Taplejung and Khotang) are supported under this program.  Before implementation of RSSP, all were poorly functioning hospitals located in underserved areas.

RSSP is a bundle of 'enabling environment' supports which goes by the acronym, The 8 Cs