Rural Staff Support Program (RSSP)

Rural Staff Support Program

The Rural Staff Support Program (RSSP) enhances the effectiveness of Nepal's government district hospitals, transforming them into institutions that can provide a range of services, including operations.

Nepal’s Ministry of Health and the Nick Simons Institute began RSSP in 2007, and today 18 government district hospitals (Bajhang, Dolakha, Gulmi, Kapilvastu, Salyan, Kalikot, Doti, Bardiya, Pyuthan, Myagdi, Mahottari, Darchula, Taplejung, Khotang, Argakhachi, Bajura, Terathum and Sankhuwasabha) are supported under this program. Before implementation of RSSP, all were poorly functioning hospitals located in underserved areas.

RSSP Map_New

RSSP Hospital Expansion (2007-2016)


Province 1

Province 2

Province 3

Gandaki Province

Province 5

Karnali Province

Sudur Pachim Province




  • Jiri, Dolakha


  • Gulmi
  • Bajhang

PHASE 2 (A) (2011-12)

  • Kapilvastu
  • Kalikot
  • Salyan
  • Doti

PHASE 2 (B) (2013-14)

  • Mahottari
  • Myagdi
  • Gulariya, Bardia
  • Pyuthan

PHASE 3 (A) (2015)

  • Khotang
  • Taplejung
  • Darchula

PHASE 3 (B) (2016)

  • Sankhuwasabha
  • Terhathum
  • Arghakhanchi
  • Bajura

The RSSP mainly focuses on the following areas to improve and provide qualitative healthcare services of the rural Nepal.

  • Human Resources: Recruits and deploys five key healthcare workers (MDGP doctor, Medical Officer, Anesthesia Assistant, Staff Nurse, and Biomedical Equipment Technician) at the hospital.
  • Healthcare Worker ‘Living Supports’: 1) Comfortable Quarters: Where quarters are worn-down, NSI renovates; where they are absent or decrepit, NSI builds new quarters for doctors, nurses, and paramedical. NSI furnishes quarters with a basic comfort package to hospital staffs. 2) Internet Access: NSI assures good internet access to office and quarters.
  • Continuing Medical Education (CME): Healthcare workers of all levels need to continually grow in their professions. NSI institutes four types of ‘CME’, all of which expand hospital capacity as well as offering personal professional development. 1. In-service training 2. On-the-job training (OJT) 3. In-hospital CME, 4. District-level CME.
Share this: