Hospital Strengthening Program

Hospital Strengthening Program (HSP)

Hospital Strengthening Program (HSP) is a continuation of Hospital Management Strengthening Program (HMSP), which has been implemented in government hospitals since 2015 to ensure readiness towards the quality improvement of hospital services through self and joint assessment using ‘Minimum Service Standards (MSS)’ tool. In addition to hospital strengthening grant by MoHP, NSI is providing grant to fill gaps not covered by the MoHP/ MoSD grant.

The short-term objective of this program is to identify existing gaps and helps to develop action plan scientifically and long-term objective of the program is to establish National Standardized Assessment and Monitoring system of the hospitals.

Program Hospitals:
The program has been implemented in different level of hospitals. The MoHP/DoHS at Federal level and MoSD/HD in provincial level took ownership for program development, implementation and reporting into government health system. The report of MSS score and progress achieved by individual hospitals of both Federal level and Provincial level has been published in the annual report published by DoHS. (DoHS-Annual-Report-FY-2076-77)

Program Components:
The major program components and the activities of Hospital Strengthening Program are as follows:

Program Components Activities
1. MSS Implementation
  • - Conduct MSS Implementation workshops.
  • - Conduct twice yearly MSS follow-up.
  • - Support (Resource Person Fee and Refreshment) MoHP /MoSD to conduct twice yearly MSS Follow up.

2. Hospital Grant Support

  • - Provide grant to meet gaps according to MSS.
3. Capacity Development Support (Province)
  • - Provincial Hospital Review Support
  • - Provincial Capacity Development for MSS implementation
  • - Need based provincial Support

HSP Coverage:
The HSP has been implemented into 97 different level of hospitals.

HSP Coverage

Provinces Primary

Secondary A

Secondary B

Local Level Upgraded

Province 1

  • Katari Hospital, Udayapur
  • Rangeli Hospital, Morang
  • Damak Hospital, Jhapa
  • District Hospital Khotang
  • District Hospital Taplejung
  • District Hospital Tehrathum
  • District Hospital Dhankuta
  • Morang -Mangalbare
  • District Hospital Bhojpur
  • District Hospital Panchthar
  • District Hospital Phaplu
  • District Hospital Okhaldhunga
  • District Hospital, Udayapur
  • District Hospital Sankhuwasabha
  • District Hospital Ilam
  • Inaruwa Hospital
  • Mechi Hospital, Jhapa
Province 2
    • Pokhariya Hospital, Parsha
    • Bardibas Hospital, Mahottari
    • Bhardaha Hospital, Saptari
    • Chandranigahpur Hospital, Rautahat
    • Jaleshwor Hospital, Mahottari
    • Gaur Hospital, Rautahat
    • Malangawa Hospital, Sarlahi
    • Lahan Hospital, Siraha
    • Kalaiya Hospital, Bara
    • Siraha Hospital, Siraha
    • Janakpur Provincial Hospital, Dhanusha
    • Nayanpur PHC, Siraha
    • Methinkot Hospital, Kavrepalanchowk
    • Jiri Hospital- Dolakha
    • Bagauda Hospital, Chitwan
    • Bakulahar Hospital, Chitwan
    • Chautara Hospital, Sindhupalchowk
    • Dhading Hospital
    • Ramechhap Hospital
    • Rasuwa District Hospital
    • Trishuli Hospital, Nuwakot
    • Bhaktapur Hospital, Chitwan
    • Hetauda Hospital, Makawanpur
    • Sindhuli Hospital
    • Manikhel PHC, Lalitpur
    • Bandipur Hospital, Tanahu
    • Shishuwa Hospital, Kaski
    • Sundar Bazar Hospital, Lamjung
    • Chapakot Hospital, Syangja
    • Manang District Hospital, Manang
    • Mustang District Hospital, Mustang
    • Parbat District Hospital, Parbat
    • Syangja District Hospital
    • Matrishishu Miteri Hospital, Kaski
    • Damauli Hospital, Tanahu
    • Beni Hospital, Myagdi
    • Dhaulagiri Hospital, Baglung
    • Gorkha District Hospital, Gorkha
    • Darbang PHC, Myagdi
    • Lamahi Hospital, Dang
    • Chisapani Hospital, Nawalparasi
    • Pipara Hospital, Kapilvastu
    • Shibaraj Hospital, Kapilvastu
    • Arghakhachi Hospital
    • Kapilvastu Hospital, Taulihawa
    • Bhim Hospital, Rupandehi
    • Palpa Hospital, Palpa
    • Rolpa Hospital, Rolpa
    • Gulmi Hospital, Tamghas
    • Pyuthan Hospital
    • Bardiya Hospital
    • Prithivi Chandra Hospital, Parasi
    • Rampur Hospital, Palpa
    • Rapti Provincial Hospital
    • Lumbini Provincial Hospital, Rupandehi
    • Lamatiya HP 
    • Dullu Hospital, Dailekh
    • Kalikot District Hospital
    • Salyan District Hospital
    • Dailekh District Hospital
    • Humla District Hospital
    • Mugu District Hospital, Mugu
    • Rukum (West) District Hospital, Rukum
    • Dolpa District Hospital, Dolpa
    • Jajarkot District Hospital
    • Mehelkuna Hospital
    • Province Hospital, Surkhet
Sudur Pachim  
    • Gokuleshwor Hospital, Darchula
    • Jogbudha Hospital, Dadeldhura
    • Malakheti Hospital, Kailali
    • District Hospital Doti
    • District Hospital Bajhang
    • District Hospital Bajura
    • District Hospital Darchula
    • District Hospital Acham
    • District Hospital Baitadi
    • Tikapur Hospital, Kailali
    • Mahakali Hospital, Kanchipuram


    • Seti Province Hospital, Kailali
    • Dodhara Chandani PHC
  62 26 4 5
Share this: